| Author |
Message |
ola_atb
Guest
|
Posted:
Wed Dec 22, 2004 4:07 am Post subject:
OWA on SSL |
|
|
Hello all,
Just finished my install of Exchange 2003 with MS Certificate Authority
installed on the IIS. I have also changed the opened Port on my router for my
exchange Server to open Port 443.
Please note that Port 80 is not available, being used by another
Application, on another Machine. So My Router has port 80 opened for the
other Machine.
After all is said and done, I got on my workstation and typed
https://servername/exchange
I was able to see OWA and sent a mail to my yahoo account. I received the
mail at yahoo.com but when I replied, the folowing was what I got.
Hi. This is the qmail-send program at yahoo.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following
addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.
<ola@fermaweb.com>:
217.160.230.10 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 550 <ola@fermaweb.com>: invalid address
Giving up on 217.160.230.10.
--- Below this line is a copy of the message.
The domain name is valid, but it is being hosted on another machine and I
thought with my setup, I should be able to send and receive from this machine.
Did I mess up something in my configuration
Thanks in advance
--
An Avvid Student
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
neo [mvp outlook]
Guest
|
Posted:
Wed Dec 22, 2004 5:25 am Post subject:
Re: OWA on SSL |
|
|
If I go to DNSStuff and pull the MX records for fermaweb.com, I get:
fermaweb.com MX preference = 10, mail exchanger = mx01.1and1.com
fermaweb.com MX preference = 10, mail exchanger = mx00.1and1.com
mx01.1and1.com internet address = 217.160.230.13
mx01.1and1.com internet address = 217.160.230.11
mx00.1and1.com internet address = 217.160.230.12
mx00.1and1.com internet address = 217.160.230.10
So are these 4 IP addressese the box(es) that handle mail for the domain?
(A 550 is usually a relaying denied message.) If yes, the e-mail address
ola@fermaweb.com is a valid e-mail address?
"ola_atb" <olaatb@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:82F1B3C9-8452-4F6F-913C-B2AF5AEF2D81@microsoft.com...
| Quote: | Hello all,
Just finished my install of Exchange 2003 with MS Certificate Authority
installed on the IIS. I have also changed the opened Port on my router for
my
exchange Server to open Port 443.
Please note that Port 80 is not available, being used by another
Application, on another Machine. So My Router has port 80 opened for the
other Machine.
After all is said and done, I got on my workstation and typed
https://servername/exchange
I was able to see OWA and sent a mail to my yahoo account. I received the
mail at yahoo.com but when I replied, the folowing was what I got.
Hi. This is the qmail-send program at yahoo.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following
addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.
ola@fermaweb.com>:
217.160.230.10 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 550 <ola@fermaweb.com>: invalid address
Giving up on 217.160.230.10.
--- Below this line is a copy of the message.
The domain name is valid, but it is being hosted on another machine and I
thought with my setup, I should be able to send and receive from this
machine.
Did I mess up something in my configuration
Thanks in advance
--
An Avvid Student |
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
ola_atb
Guest
|
Posted:
Wed Dec 22, 2004 6:35 am Post subject:
Re: OWA on SSL |
|
|
Thanks Neo, I found that the denial was actually being done by 1and1. I had
thought that I set the MX record to point to my IP address, and when I went
to the 1and1 site that was what I saw in my panel, but the guy I poke to said
exactly what you are saying, so he has forced the change for me. All I have
to do is wait for about 6 - 12 hours he said.
Now the other question is that if I do not care for OWA to come out of Port
80 and I have it setup with CA and I can get to it through Port 443, is there
any problem with that? I have Apache on another Machine listening on Port 80.
I do not need Apache encrypted, so I configured my Exchange Server with SSL.
Am I okay with this setting or does OWA need Port 80?
Thanks a million
"neo [mvp outlook]" wrote:
| Quote: | If I go to DNSStuff and pull the MX records for fermaweb.com, I get:
fermaweb.com MX preference = 10, mail exchanger = mx01.1and1.com
fermaweb.com MX preference = 10, mail exchanger = mx00.1and1.com
mx01.1and1.com internet address = 217.160.230.13
mx01.1and1.com internet address = 217.160.230.11
mx00.1and1.com internet address = 217.160.230.12
mx00.1and1.com internet address = 217.160.230.10
So are these 4 IP addressese the box(es) that handle mail for the domain?
(A 550 is usually a relaying denied message.) If yes, the e-mail address
ola@fermaweb.com is a valid e-mail address?
"ola_atb" <olaatb@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:82F1B3C9-8452-4F6F-913C-B2AF5AEF2D81@microsoft.com...
Hello all,
Just finished my install of Exchange 2003 with MS Certificate Authority
installed on the IIS. I have also changed the opened Port on my router for
my
exchange Server to open Port 443.
Please note that Port 80 is not available, being used by another
Application, on another Machine. So My Router has port 80 opened for the
other Machine.
After all is said and done, I got on my workstation and typed
https://servername/exchange
I was able to see OWA and sent a mail to my yahoo account. I received the
mail at yahoo.com but when I replied, the folowing was what I got.
Hi. This is the qmail-send program at yahoo.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following
addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.
ola@fermaweb.com>:
217.160.230.10 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 550 <ola@fermaweb.com>: invalid address
Giving up on 217.160.230.10.
--- Below this line is a copy of the message.
The domain name is valid, but it is being hosted on another machine and I
thought with my setup, I should be able to send and receive from this
machine.
Did I mess up something in my configuration
Thanks in advance
--
An Avvid Student
|
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
neo [mvp outlook]
Guest
|
Posted:
Wed Dec 22, 2004 8:22 am Post subject:
Re: OWA on SSL |
|
|
Your split config is fine. Will probably throw some folks off even. :)
"ola_atb" <olaatb@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:AFF90B81-0ACE-4B70-8C87-61CA5080637A@microsoft.com...
| Quote: | Thanks Neo, I found that the denial was actually being done by 1and1. I
had
thought that I set the MX record to point to my IP address, and when I
went
to the 1and1 site that was what I saw in my panel, but the guy I poke to
said
exactly what you are saying, so he has forced the change for me. All I
have
to do is wait for about 6 - 12 hours he said.
Now the other question is that if I do not care for OWA to come out of
Port
80 and I have it setup with CA and I can get to it through Port 443, is
there
any problem with that? I have Apache on another Machine listening on Port
80.
I do not need Apache encrypted, so I configured my Exchange Server with
SSL.
Am I okay with this setting or does OWA need Port 80?
Thanks a million
"neo [mvp outlook]" wrote:
If I go to DNSStuff and pull the MX records for fermaweb.com, I get:
fermaweb.com MX preference = 10, mail exchanger = mx01.1and1.com
fermaweb.com MX preference = 10, mail exchanger = mx00.1and1.com
mx01.1and1.com internet address = 217.160.230.13
mx01.1and1.com internet address = 217.160.230.11
mx00.1and1.com internet address = 217.160.230.12
mx00.1and1.com internet address = 217.160.230.10
So are these 4 IP addressese the box(es) that handle mail for the domain?
(A 550 is usually a relaying denied message.) If yes, the e-mail address
ola@fermaweb.com is a valid e-mail address?
"ola_atb" <olaatb@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:82F1B3C9-8452-4F6F-913C-B2AF5AEF2D81@microsoft.com...
Hello all,
Just finished my install of Exchange 2003 with MS Certificate Authority
installed on the IIS. I have also changed the opened Port on my router
for
my
exchange Server to open Port 443.
Please note that Port 80 is not available, being used by another
Application, on another Machine. So My Router has port 80 opened for
the
other Machine.
After all is said and done, I got on my workstation and typed
https://servername/exchange
I was able to see OWA and sent a mail to my yahoo account. I received
the
mail at yahoo.com but when I replied, the folowing was what I got.
Hi. This is the qmail-send program at yahoo.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following
addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.
ola@fermaweb.com>:
217.160.230.10 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 550 <ola@fermaweb.com>: invalid address
Giving up on 217.160.230.10.
--- Below this line is a copy of the message.
The domain name is valid, but it is being hosted on another machine and
I
thought with my setup, I should be able to send and receive from this
machine.
Did I mess up something in my configuration
Thanks in advance
--
An Avvid Student
|
|
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
|
|